NaNoWriMo 2012 – Gearing Up

I’m staring at a mostly blank page. There is a series of boxes, and because of Weeds, a show that just started getting to weird for me about a full season in, I am now thinking “little boxes on the hilltops…”

The first box asks me for my novel title. I think I can answer this one. Good. Maybe not. My initial title for this project was “Cupid’s Bow,” but I knew this was a lame title long before I could provide it with any other appelation. I am now thinking of calling it “Corporate Decree,” because of the beginning of Samuel Taylor Coleridge’s Kubla Khan “in Xanadu did Kubla Khan a stately pleasure dome decree,”but thematically, the only thing that I’ve been able to derive so far is that this novel deals with pleasure… that is, lust, and doing what is pleasurable to people.

There’s a drop down list of different genres, and I want to put it in the “Mystery, Thriller & Suspense” bucket, but the truth of the matter is that it might have some “Horror and Supernatural” in it, and it might have some “Action and Adventure.” Based on the involvement lust will have in this tale, it might even, eep, be grouped with tales that are far more steamy than what this will become.

The next option is to add a cover. It’s hard to judge a book by its cover, but it is equally as hard to judge a cover for a book that doesn’t even exist yet. Any suggestions based on that title would be great!

Finally, there are two spaces for a synopsis and an excerpt. Again, this is hard to do when you haven’t written the novel yet. My best guess for a synopsis is as follows:

“Zane is a perpetual slacker. His father has all but handed him a job at Majesty, one of the most prestigious conglomerates in the US, but Zane has shown no interest in advancement. All of this changes when Zane is asked to shadow *Big Bad*, a shifty corporate lawyer whose successes may eventually lead to Majesty’s demise.”

What else would you like to see in the synopsis?

As you can see, I am lacking a name for the big baddie, as well as a few of the other central characters. I have a list of ‘potential character’ names that takes up most of an 8.5″ by 11″ page, but none of them seem to fit this character, or several other characters. I can’t offer a comprehensive character list, but I can name a few of ’em. Perhaps you’d have good names that these folks could borrow!

Zane Resnick – perpetual slacker, working as a security guard
George Resnick – effectively the consigliere to the chairman of the board at Majesty
The Chairman of the Board – runs a multinational, extremely large conglomerate involved in heavy industrial manufacturing and consumer electronics.
Big Bad – a tall, broad shouldered corporate lawyer who wears his hair in a ponytail and drives expensive sedans
Male – a germaphobe who primarily works in clean-rooms, building and testing products
Male – a junior associate at the company’s in-house legal firm; college educated, professional, Latino.
Female – a clerk in the accounting side of things. She is from Bhojpur District, Bihar, India (two hundred miles from Nepal), and is a Jain. I know that her name is Naghma, but I think that she needs a more Western sounding nickname). She is really reserved and is an older sister to a bubbly, borderline nutty, college-aged sister.
Female – a design engineer in R&D. Reasonably tall, redheaded, and closed off. She is dedicated to her job, which makes some disconnect from others in this novel.

In other news, NaNoWriMo starts this week. Anybody else doing it? I hope those of you who would like to socialize realize the nutty time commitment that it entails! Finally, I am sorry that this post is so quick and dirty; I’m trying to get through as much planning as I can in preparation for another crazy month!

Leave a Reply

